Entry of Foreigners in the PHL Under Specific Immigration Categories

Press Release from Bureau of Immigration, 21 July 2020
Press Release from Bureau of Immigration, 21 July 2020


The Philippine Consulate General in Agana (Guam) informs the public of the  recommendations from the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) under Resolution No. 56 dated 16 July 2020 on the entry of foreign nationals in the Philippines under specific immigration categories, the pertinent portion of which is quoted below (with emphasis added):

“Beginning 01 August 2020, foreign nationals with long-term visas [immigrant visas under Sec. 13 of (Commonwealth Act) 613; RA 7919 (grant of permanent resident status to qualified illegal aliens) and EO 324 (Waiving Passport Requirements for Immigrants under certain conditions)] shall be allowed entry in the Philippines while maintaining the priority of returning Overseas Filipinos, subject to the following conditions:

  1. Must have a valid and existing visa at the time of entry.  However, no new entry visa application shall be accepted;
  2. With pre-booked accredited quarantine facility;
  3. With pre-booked COVID-19 testing provider;
  4. Subject to the maximum capacity of inbound passengers at the airport and date of entry; and

The foregoing is without prejudice to applicable immigration laws, rules and regulations.”

The Bureau of Immigration also clarified that entry of foreign tourists, non-immigrant visa holders, and other categories of aliens is still prohibited at this time.